People

Affiliated Faculty

Peter Bloom
Ellison 4715
pbloom@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu

Specializing in French and Francophone cinema and society, Peter Bloom's interests range from the history of film technologies, narratives of body techniques, avant-garde and experimental movements, to contemporary film and media in Europe and Africa. Click here to learn more about Peter Bloom.

Susan Derwin
Phelps 6325
derwin@gss.ucsb.edu

Susan Derwin is a professor of German, Slavic, and Semitic Studies at UC Santa Barbara. She works in the fields of Holocaust studies and nineteenth- and twentieth-century narrative, with an emphasis on memoir, testimony, psychoanalytic theory, and the American and European novel. Click here to learn more about Susan Derwin.

Simonetta Falasca-Zamponi
Ellison 2714
falasca@soc.ucsb.edu

Simonetta Falasca-Zamponi is a professor of Sociology here at UC Santa Barbara. Her focuses include culture, political/historical sociology, and Western European studies. Click here to learn more about Simonetta Falasca-Zamponi.

Sharon A. Farmer
HSSB 4239
farmer@history.ucsb.edu

Sharon A. Farmer is a professor of History at UC Santa Barbara. Her focuses include medieval women and gender, medieval towns, medieval poor, and relations between western Europe and the east. Click here to learn more about Sharon A. Farmer.

David Marshall
CH 2127
dmarshall@ltsc.ucsb.edu

David Marshall is a Professor in the English Department and Dean of Humanities and Fine Arts at the University of California, Santa Barbara. He was a professor at Yale University for 18 years, where he served as Chair of the English Department, Director of The Literature Major, Acting Chair of Comparative Literature, and Director of the Whitney Humanities Center, among other appointments. Click here to learn more about David Marshall.

Elisabeth Weber
Phelps 6206A
weber@gss.ucsb.edu

Elisabeth Weber is a professor of German, Slavic, and Semitic Studies at UC Santa Barbara. Weber's research interests and publications include the following: French philosophy and theory; psychoanalysis and trauma-studies; German Judaism of the nineteenth- and twentieth-centuries; nineteenth- and twentieth century German literature. Click here to learn more about Elisabeth Weber.